Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Logo des SFB 762

Further settings

Login for editors





B3: Magneto-electro-optical interactions and their dynamics in oxide heterostructures

The main objective of the project is the demonstration of a remanently electrical switchable optical waveguide. In that, the switching state of a ferroelectric or multiferroic material, which is deposited on top of the dielectric or semiconducting micro-dimensional waveguide, shall be used as an information unit (bit). Switching changes the electric or magnetic fields within the waveguide mediated by the interface. The properties of optical modes changed suchely can be easily detected and thus the switching state can be read out. Such interfaces between optics and electronics are relevant e.g. for optical circuits or optical interconnects in multicore processors.

Towards the realization of such structures, the electro- and magneto-optical properties of ferroelectric, magnetic and multiferroic materials and heterostructures shall be investigated. Hence, also new fundamental physical understanding is expected, for example regarding the correlation of properties of electronic transitions, which can be observed in the materials dielectric function, with the electronic orbitals related to magnetic or ferroelectric order. For that purpose, spectroscopic ellipsometry, magneto-optical spectroscopy and Raman scattering shall be applied, also depending on temperature in order to observe phase transitions.

Of particular interest are the dynamic properties of the dielectric function. Here it shall be investigated how the dynamics of ferroelectric or multiferroic switching operations influence the time scales of the effects which can be observed in the dielectric function. Time scales ranging from fs (pump-robe spectroscopy) via ps to ms (time-resolved ellipsometry) are of interest.

As “ferroic” materials, mainly the material classes spinels and hexagonal manganates, which have also been investigated in the last funding periods, but also BaTiO3/BiFeO3-composite-/multilayer-multiferroica as well as further innovative materials shall be used.

Principal Investigators

Dr. Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund ⇒

phone: +49 (0) 341/97 32619

fax: +49 (0) 341/97 32668

Dr. Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund

Dr. Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Logo des SFB 762

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure





B3: Magneto-elektro-optische Wechselwirkung und ihre Dynamik von oxidischen Heterostrukturen

Hauptziel des Projektes ist die Demonstration eines remanent elek­trisch schaltbaren optischen Wellenleiters. In diesem soll der Schaltzustand eines auf den di­elek­trischen oder halbleitenden mikro-dimensionierten Wellenleiter aufgebrachten Ferroelektrikums oder Multiferroikums als Informationseinheit (Bit) dienen. Das Schalten ändert die über die Grenzfläche vermittelten elek­trischen oder magnetischen Felder im Wellenleiter. Die dadurch veränderten Eigenschaften der optischen Moden können leicht optisch detektiert und damit der Schaltzustand ausgelesen werden. Solche Schnittstellen zwischen Optik und Elektronik sind z. B. relevant für optische Schaltkreise oder optischen inter-core Datentransport in Multicore-Prozessoren.

In Hinblick auf die Realisierung einer solchen Struktur sollen elektro- und magneto-optische Eigenschaften von ferroelek­trischen, magnetischen und multiferroischen Materialien und Heterostrukturen untersucht werden. Dadurch werden auch neue grundlagenphysikalische Erkenntnisse erwartet, bspw. zum Verständnis des Zusammenhanges der Eigenschaften elektronischer Übergänge, die in der di­elek­trischen Funktion beobachtet werden können, mit den mit magnetischer oder ferroelek­trischer Ordnung verbundenen elektronischen Orbitalen. Hierzu soll spektro­skopische Ellipsometrie, magneto-optische Spektro­skopie und Raman-Streeung eingesetzt werden, auch in Abhängigkeit von der Temperatur, um Phasenübergänge beobachten zu können.

Von besonderem Interesse sind die dynamischen Eigenschaften der di­elek­trischen Funktion (DF). Hier soll untersucht werden, wie sich die Dynamik ferroelek­trischer bzw. multiferroischer Schaltvorgänge auf die Zeitskalen der in der DF beobachtbaren Effekte auswirkt. Dabei sollen Zeitskalen von fs (pump-probe Spektro­skopie) über ps bis ms (zeitaufgelöste Ellipsometrie) betrachtet werden.

Als „ferroische“ Materialien sollen im Wesentlichen die auch schon in der laufenden Förderperiode untersuchten Klassen der Spinelle und hexagonalen Manganate, aber auch neu hinzukommend BaTiO3/BiFeO3-Komposit-/Multilagen-Multiferroika sowie weitere neuartige Materialien zum Einsatz kommen.

Projektleiter

Dr. Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund ⇒

Telefon: 0341/97 32619

Telefax: 0341/97 32668  

Dr. Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund

Dr. Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund

Zum Seitenanfang